Jimmy Rollins questions GM Amaro on Cliff Lee

Jimmy Rollins

Jimmy Rollins finally said out loud what many baseball fans – not just Phillies’ fans, but hardcore baseball fans – have been wondering for months when the Phils’ all-star shortstop appeared on The Dan Patrick Radio Show Wednesday.
The question: Why couldn’t the Phillies keep both Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee?
Here is a portion of the text. Click here for audio.

“That, I have no idea. I’m sure we could afford him. We turned nearly 4 million people through the turnstiles last year. I don’t know. You should have (Phillies GM) Ruben (Amaro) on here. When the trade happened, I actually got a text from Jayson Werth and he was like, ‘What are we doing?’ And I was like, ‘Didn’t we get Halladay?’ And he was like, ‘Yeah, but we traded Lee.’ And my mouth dropped like, ‘That wasn’t part of the deal.’ I really don’t know. I thought we had enough to keep him. I thought we could have done enough to keep him, but I guess that’s just a move the Yankees do.”

Wow!
I mean. Wow!

OK, have at it boys and girls. Let me know what you think about the Rollins interview in the comments section.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Jimmy Rollins questions GM Amaro on Cliff Lee”

  1. Not What They Used To Be Says:

    J-Roll has been known for speaking his mind, but blatantly calling out your GM is something else. Wow indeed.

    • johnalbone Says:

      I like it.
      Not a Phillies fan and was always on the fence when it came to Rollins … until now.
      Granted, it’s a lot easier speaking your mind with an MVP trophy and a World Series ring, but it still takes some brass stones to do that.
      Plus, he’s right.
      The only case you could possibly make is if Amaro would not have been able to get Halladay w/o moving Lee, which is very possible because I heard the trade actually was initiated by the new GMs in Toronto and Seattle.
      Either way, if I were a Phillies’ fan, even with Lee on the DL I’d have rather had him than Cole “I just want this to be over” Hamels.

      • Not What They Used To Be Says:

        I can’t argue with your point about Hamels. I’m not sure what happened to him between the 2008 postseason and the 2009 season, but he was not the same pitcher – physically or mentally.


Leave a Reply

