No Lie: Garcia’s healthy this time

Christian Garcia is so good that he held hitters to a .172 batting average and had a 0.71 ERA with a bone spur, more chips than Intel and scar tissue pressed onto a nerve in his right elbow.
And he told no one.
It wasn’t until he walked six batters at Reading June 10 that the red flag was raised, and that was the last the Thunder and their fans would see of the Yankees’ third-round draft pick in 2004.
Garcia takes the ball from Thunder manager Tony Franklin for tonight’s season-opener against Erie (7:05 p.m.) at Waterfront Park and insists he is finally healthy.
Honest.
I pulled out a few of the tastier nuggets from my chat with Garcia Tuesday, when the likeable right-hander admitted he was less than truthful with his coaches and, ultimately, the big club regarding the health of his balky elbow.
With a lengthy injury history, including missing all of 2007 following reconstructive elbow surgery, one can understand Garcia’s reluctance to come clean.
Be sure to check out the full-length article in tomorrow’s editions of The Times of Trenton.
Big thanks to Dave Schofield for another great photo.
“When I got here (Last May) my elbow was aching a little bit,’’ Garcia said. “But I just kept pitching through it. The problem was that it was getting worse, not better, and it just got to the point where I just had to say ‘enough was enough.’ I didn’t talk about it and if anyone asked I just said it felt good. I thought I could still pitch and still go out there and compete. Another reason I didn’t say anything was because I am sure all 26 guys in that clubhouse are aching at some point. It’s a fine line between being achy and actually hurt, and I didn’t want another setback.’’
The gamble could have cost Garcia dearly, but he seems to have bounced back nicely and only time will tell if he can stay healthy long enough to build the arm strength necessary to get reach the big leagues.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

